Please ask the Governor to Veto HB2017!

From the Sierra Club:

Please ask the Governor to Veto HB2017!

Thank legislators who supported Clean Cars and Clean Air.

There is still one more vote to be counted relative to HB2017. That is the Governor’s. While she has been extremely supportive of the Clean Car Rule and very engaged in the Western Climate Initiative, I think it is important to let her know that there are lots of people out there who support a veto of HB2017.

Please take the time in the next couple of days to send Governor Napolitano a quick note asking her to please veto HB2017 Now: greenhouse emissions; regulations; fuel economy. This bill sends the message that Arizona does not want to do its part to clean up the air or reduce greenhouse gas emissions and other pollutants. That is the wrong message to send.

If it becomes law, HB2017 will undercut “Clean Car” and clean air programs and significantly restrict Arizona’s ability to participate in regional efforts to limit greenhouse gas emissions as well as other pollutants.

You can contact the Governor at azgov@az.gov or go to http://azgovernor.gov/contact.asp and type in your message. Call 602-542-4331 or outside the Phoenix area 1-800-253-0883. You can also contact the governor via mail at: The Honorable Janet Napolitano, Governor of Arizona, 1700 West Washington, 9th Floor, Phoenix, Arizona 85007 or by fax at 602-542-1381.

Also, please take the time to thank the following legislators, all of whom voted against HB2017 and all of whom recognize the importance of taking actions to improve air quality and reduce greenhouse gas emissions. While the legislature is acting irresponsibly as a body, these individual legislators stood up and did the right thing. I have included their email addresses for your convenience. Please thank Representatives: Ableser eableser@azleg.gov, Bradley dbradley@azleg.gov, Brown jbrown@azleg.gov, Cajero Bedford ocajerobedford@azleg.gov, Chad Campbell chcampbell@azleg.gov, Chabin tchabin@azleg.gov, Farley sfarley@azleg.gov, Gallardo sgallardo@azleg.gov, Garcia mgarcia@azleg.gov, Hershberger phershberger@azleg.gov, Lopes plopes@azleg.gov, Lopez llopez@azleg.gov, Lujan dlujan@azleg.gov, Miranda bmiranda@azleg.gov, Pancrazi lpancrazi@azleg.gov, Prezelski tprezelski@azleg.gov, Schapira dschapira@azleg.gov, Sinema ksinema@azleg.gov, Thrasher jthrasher@azleg.gov, Tom atom@azleg.gov, Ulmer ulmer@azleg.gov, and Young-Wright nyoungwright@azleg.gov.

Representatives DeSimone and McGuire were absent. Everyone else voted for the bill.

If you would like to contact representatives who supported the bill and express your disappointment or dismay, you can find contact information for all legislators by clicking on HOUSE or paste this website into your browser http://www.azleg.gov/memberRoster.asp?Body=H or you can call (602) 926-4221 or outside the Phoenix area 1-800-352-8404 and just ask to be connected to House members’ offices.

Thank you for taking action on this important issue!

Sandy Bahr

Conservation Outreach Director

Sierra Club – Grand Canyon Chapter

202 E. McDowell Rd, Suite 277

Phoenix, AZ 85004

Phone (602) 253-8633

Fax (602) 258-6533

sandy.bahr@sierraclub.org